Alabama-West Florida Grieves Blackwell, COT Co-founder

December 01, 2017

The Alabama-West Florida Conference was deeply saddened to learn of the death of Laurel Blackwell, co-founder of Communities of Transformation. Laurel bravely and successfully battled cancer but developed some recent health complications and passed away last evening, November 30, 2017. Her husband, Fred, and daughter, Sarah, were at her side. 

Laurel and Fred Blackwell were instrumental in launching the conference ministry, Communities of Transformation, in 2011. They felt called to spend their retirement years bridging the socioeconomic, cultural and racial gaps that often divide people. As a result of their leadership and dedication, nine communities have been established throughout the conference. 

“Laurel Blackwell was living into the Great Commission each and every day,” said Bishop David Graves. "She exemplified what it means to be a true servant of Christ. The Communities of Transformation initiative would not exist today if it were not for her commitment to this necessary and life-changing ministry. I give thanks for her life and extend my deepest sympathy and prayers to the family. We will support Fred in any way we can to continue her vision.” 

Visitation will be from 3:00-6:00pm CT(4:00-7:00 pm ET) on Sunday, December3, 2017, at Vance Memorial Chapel Funeral home located at 3738 US-431/US-280, Phenix City, AL 36867.

The service will be at 3:00pm CT (4:00 pm ET) on Monday, December 4, 2017, at Epworth United Methodist Church located at 3763 US-431/US-280, Phenix City, AL 36867. The interment will be at a later time in Laurel's home town in Iowa.

The family has requested that in lieu of flowers, friends and family make donations to Communities of Transformation in her memory. The money will be used for a special purpose to be determined by the family.  Donations can be made to Communities of Transformation, c/o Janet Wooten, 5004 Scarlett Drive, Phenix City, AL  36867.