Alabama-West Florida 2022 Annual Conference Information

January 24, 2022

January 24, 2022

The Alabama-West Florida Conference of the United Methodist Church will hold its 2022 Annual Conference session Sunday, June 12-Wednesday, June 15 at the Dunn-Oliver Acadome on the campus of Alabama State University in Montgomery, AL. The Service of Commissioning and Ordination will be held at First United Methodist Church, Montgomery.
This year’s theme is, “In this Season” from Ecclesiastes 3:1 with each day having a specific focus and missional giving recipient.
Sunday, June 12: In this season of learning. Offering will go towards cohorts and Ministerial Education Fund.
Monday, June 13: In this season of reflection. Offering will go towards restoration in the Boy Scouts of America settlement
Tuesday, June 14: In this season of hope. Offering will go towards AWF New Church Starts.
Wednesday, June 15: In this season of courage. Offering will go towards clergy health.
To see the working agenda, click here. We will begin each day of annual conference with worship and communion. Bishop Lawson Bryan will preach at the opening worship service, Rev. Allison Posell will preach at the memorial service and Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett will preach at the commissioning and ordination service. Dr. Kitsy Dixon, Dr. Hays Mckay and Rev. Jefferey Postell will preach during the morning worship services. Note that opening worship will begin at 6:00 pm on Sunday, June 12. The clergy and laity sessions will be via Zoom on Sunday, May 15.
Any proposed changes to the Standing Rules should be received in writing by the chairperson of the Committee on Standing Rules no later than February 1, 2022. You may submit proposed changes by email to or by mail to Rev. Kathy Knight, 3004 Alexandria Court, Mobile, AL  36693. 

Resolutions shall be submitted to the Committee on Resolutions and Petitions by February 15, 2022, except in cases where it can be demonstrated by the author of a late petition that the situation which gave rise to making the petition was not apparent until after the deadline for petitions. The committee shall provide copies of all resolutions submitted by February 15 to all voting members present at the conference session. The maker of the late resolution shall supply these copies of his/her resolution if submitted after February 15. No resolution will be received on the last day of the session. The Chairperson of the Committee on Resolutions and Petitions is Rev. Christina Shaver. You may contact her at

Materials and reports to be included in the Book of Reports shall be in the hands of the Journal editor no later than February 28, 2022. Please submit materials and reports via this link: Email Sarah McWilliams, Journal Editor (, with questions. 
As a reminder, we encourage you to prayerfully consider nominating someone for one of our conference awards: The Alice Lee Award, Francis Asbury Award and Harry Denman Evangelism Award. Click here for more information.
Further details about registration, food service and meals, and hotels will also be forthcoming. A virtual option is available upon request. The 2022 Book of Reports will be posted to the conference website when it is available in the spring.

We look forward to seeing you at conference.