A Word from Bishop Graves for the Montgomery-Prattville District

April 27, 2020

Friends in the Montgomery-Prattville District,
I hope this correspondence finds you well despite the ongoing pandemic in the world.
Perhaps you read the announcement that the Montgomery-Opelika district superintendent, Dr. Jeff Wilson, will also be serving in this capacity for the Montgomery-Prattville District starting July 1, 2020. To clarify, Jeff will be the district superintendent of both districts, having oversight of all district administrative committees, including the district committee on ministry, district trustees, and other district teams. 
Supervision of pastors, work with SPR committees, and charge conferences will be shared among three district superintendents based upon the county in which your church is located. These superintendents will handle pastoral and/or SPRC consultations, including all appointment conversations. All pastors and churches will remain part of the Montgomery-Prattville District, even when direct supervision is provided by a different superintendent. Charges of multiple churches that cross county lines will be notified regarding the district superintendent with supervisory responsibility. The following Montgomery-Prattville county breakdown will assist you in understanding this new model:
Dr. Jeff Wilson: Montgomery County, Autauga County, Elmore County;
Dr. Alan Gantzhorn: Chilton County, Dallas County, Wilcox County, Lowndes County;
Rev. Jean Tippet: Butler County.
As we continue to seek innovative ways to make the best use of our resources, we prayerfully ask for your help in making this plan successful. I invite you to pray for the cabinet as they live into new ways of being servant leaders. Thank you for the many ways you are changing your corner of the world, even in historic times.
In Christ,
Bishop David Graves
Resident Bishop
Alabama-West Florida Conference