Harry Denman Award

For more than thirty years, The Foundation for Evangelism has been privileged to work with annual conferences to celebrate outstanding personal evangelism ministry of United Methodist Clergy, Laity and Youth by sponsoring the prestigious Harry Denman Evangelism Award. Since inception, more than 2,500 individuals have been honored.  Think of the multiplying impact on the lives of others these folks have made through their efforts to help people experience God’s transforming love through Jesus Christ!

The Harry Denman Evangelism Award is named for the founder of The Foundation for Evangelism.  Dr. Billy Graham wrote, “Harry Denman was one of the great mentors for evangelism in my own life and ministry… the thing people will remember above all about Harry Denman was his love of Christ and his desire to see others come to know Him.  He truly was one of those rare individuals whose impact will continue for generations to come.”

The Conference Board of Discipleship, Division of Evangelism, is now accepting nominations for The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards for clergy, lay, and youth.  Nominations should be submitted directly to Rev. Larry Anderson landerson@harvestdothan.com. Deadline is May 1.  Please include as much specific information as possible about how your nominee practices personal evangelism as well as examples of the impact made on others. For example, letters of testimony from persons impacted by the ministry of your nominee will be helpful.

Below are the nomination forms for each category: clergy, lay, and youth.  The intent is to select recipients who are, “exceptional people who possess a passion to help bring others into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ”.  

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Rev. Larry Anderson.  

Click HERE for a brochure.

Applications (fillable forms):

2019 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient- Amber Gay, Robinson Springs UMC
  • Laity Recipient- Matt Hull, Trinity UMC
  • Clergy Recipient- Rev. Dunford Cole, Campground UMC/Rutledge UMC

2018 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient- N/A
  • Laity Recipient- Merrily York, Gulf Breeze UMC
  • Clergy Recipient- Rev. Matt Mobley, Mulder Memorial UMC

2017 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient - Brett Herndon, Chickasaw UMC
  • Laity Recipient - Malcolm Smith, Canton Bend UMC
  • Clergy Recipient - Rev. Andres Doimeadios, Casa De Dios Gateway Of Heaven

2016 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient – Riley Newton, Auburn Wesley Foundation
  • Laity Recipients – Ben and Kristen Wallace, Dothan FUMC
  • Clergy Recipient – Rev. Rurel Ausley, Crosspoint UMC

2015 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient - Sydney Wilson, Millbrook FUMC
  • Laity Recipient - Cameron Winton, Woodlawn UMC
  • Clergy Recipient - Rev. German Gomez, Clanton UMC, San Juan Mission

2014 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient – T. Matthew Langford, Greenville, FUMC
  • Laity Recipient – Jared Parker, Millbrook FUMC 
  • Clergy Recipient – Rev. Kathy Jorgensen, Dauphin Way UMC

2013 Award Winners:

  • Youth Recipient:  Brooke Herndon, Chickasaw UMC
  • Laity Recipients:  Mark Jackson, Mulder Memorial UMC and Robert Powell, Dothan First UMC
  • Clergy Recipient:  Rev. Jeremy Mount, Perdido Bay UMC

Click HERE for past recipients.