Board of Laity

Beverly Maddox, Conference Lay Leader 

Role of a Lay Member
Lay members of annual conference, along with the pastor, interpret the work done by the annual conference session to the congregation.  They are the liaison between the congregation and the general church and represent the congregation in the actions taken at the annual conference sessions.  The Discipline requires that lay members of annual conference be professing members of the United Methodist Church for two years preceding their election and active participants in The United Methodist Church for at least four years before their election (¶ 602.4).  Click HERE for a complete role description.

Delegates to the 2020 General Conference are to be elected at the 2019 session of the Alabama-West Florida Annual Conference. (Paragraph 502.3).  Four (4) Clergy Delegates and four (4) Lay Delegates shall be elected.

General and Jurisdictional Election Process
The Alabama-West Florida Conference will elect its delegation to the 2020 General and Jurisdictional Conferences during the 2019 Annual Conference Session in Montgomery on June 2 – 5, 2019 at Frazer UMC.  The General Conference is the global gathering of the United Methodist Church where mission and ministry priorities are established and The Book of Discipline is reviewed for possible revisions. The General Conference is the policy setting body of United Methodism. The 2020 General Conference will be held on May 5 - 15 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  The purpose of the Jurisdictional Conference is to coordinate the connected ministry and mission of this region and to elect and assign Bishops for leadership in the Church.  Dates for the 2020 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference will be July 15 - 18, 2020 at Lake Junaluska in North Carolina.  Click HERE for the full document.

Lay Delegate Profile Nomination Form

Lay Leader Training
Click HERE for guidelines in leading your congregation.

Susanna Wesley Award for Excellence
The recipient of the 2018 Susanna Wesley Award for Excellence is Mrs. Shirley Woodie.