Annual Conference Awards

Alice Lee Award

The Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) of the Alabama – West Florida Conference annually presents the Alice Lee Award at Annual Conference. The coveted award is named for outstanding Monroeville attorney and church leader Alice Lee. Miss Lee was the first woman to chair the conference delegation to General Conference and is to date the only woman to do so. The award was established to help promote COSROW’s primary purpose of “challenging the church to a continuing commitment to the full and equal responsibility and participation of women in the total life and mission of the church, sharing fully in the power and in the policy making at all levels of the Church life.” Women who have been the recipients of the Alice Lee Award have not only demonstrated commitment to God and their church, but have also been bridge builders and barrier breakers for women through their leadership in the church and community.

Click here for a fillable form

Submission deadline is May 10. 

For more information about the Alice Lee Award, please contact Ruth Ann Powers

Jane Walker Scholarship 

The Jane Walker Scholarship is awarded each year by the Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) of the Alabama-West Florida Conference of the United Methodist Church. Each scholarship recipient is awarded $1000. The recipient is announced at a COSROW breakfast held annually at Annual Conference and will be recognized during the COSROW report at the Annual Conference session.

Eligibility for Scholarship

  • Applicant should be a woman who affirms, represents, and advocates for women’s leadership in the church.
  • Applicant must be accepted or enrolled in a United Methodist seminary approved by the University Senate or be pursuing an undergraduate degree in Christian Education at a University Senate approved United Methodist institution.
  • Completed application (including essay) and two letters of recommendation from a pastor and a professor must be received by a certain date in order to be eligible for consideration.
  • Applicant should be an outstanding candidate for ministry or seeking a United Methodist church-related career.
  • Applicant must be a resident of the Alabama-West Florida Conference and plan at the time of application to serve within the bounds of the conference.

Click here for a fillable form

Submission deadline is May 15.

For more information about the scholarship, please contact Rev. Lynn Smilie Nesbitt

Francis Asbury Award

The Francis Asbury Award is given by the Board of Higher Education and Campus Ministry to individuals who have made a significant contribution to fostering the church's ministries in higher education at the local, district, or annual conference level of the church. Nominations (to include a 200-300 word description of the persons qualifications) can be sent to Dr. Rob Couch at by May 1.
The individual must be:

-A United Methodist;
-Active in supporting, strengthening, and promoting the church's work in higher education ministries (schools, colleges, campus ministries, scholarships, Black College Fund, Africa University) at the annual conference, district, or local church level;
-Offer outstanding leadership, above and beyond basic responsibilities, to help bring heightened awareness to the significance of the church's higher education ministries;
-Involved in efforts in agreement with the concerns of the annual conference board of higher education and campus ministry and the Division of Higher Education of the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

Harry Denman Evangelism Award 

For more than thirty years, The Foundation for Evangelism has been privileged to work with annual conferences to celebrate outstanding personal evangelism ministry of United Methodist Clergy, Laity and Youth by sponsoring the prestigious Harry Denman Evangelism Award. Since inception, more than 2,500 individuals have been honored. Think of the multiplying impact on the lives of others these folks have made through their efforts to help people experience God’s transforming love through Jesus Christ!
The Harry Denman Evangelism Award is named for the founder of The Foundation for Evangelism. Dr. Billy Graham wrote, “Harry Denman was one of the great mentors for evangelism in my own life and ministry… the thing people will remember above all about Harry Denman was his love of Christ and his desire to see others come to know Him. He truly was one of those rare individuals whose impact will continue for generations to come.”

The Conference Board of Discipleship, Division of Evangelism, is now accepting nominations for The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards for clergy, lay, and youth. Nominations should be submitted directly to Rev. Allen Newton Deadline is April 4, 2014.

The intent is to select recipients who are, “exceptional people who possess a passion to help bring others into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ."

Click here to download clergy fillable form
Click here to download laity fillable form
Click here to download youth fillable form

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Rev. Allen Newton
(334) 277-3037.

The Local Church Heritage Award

An annual award, " The Local Church Heritage Award, " was established in 1988 to be given to the church most diligent in preserving its heritage during the year. The award recipient will be named at the Annual Conference Session.

Click here for guidelines and application.

For more information about the award, please contact Sharon Tucker