2016 SEJ Conference

The 2016 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference will meet July 13-15 at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center in Lake Junaluska, NC. The 2016 Conference theme is Hope and Unity in Christ, based on Hebrews 6:18-19a.

Like the worldwide legislative meeting known as General Conference, jurisdictional conferences meet once every four years. However, while General Conference handles denominational matters across the globe, each jurisdictional gathering covers business related to one of the church's five regional jurisdictions in the United States. The primary business of jurisdictional conferences is the election and assignment of bishops. 

Equal numbers of laity and clergy, elected by each annual conference, will be delegates. The Alabama-West Florida Conference has ten clergy and ten lay delegates as well as four clergy and four lay alternates. 

This year the Southeastern Jurisdiction will elect five new bishops. Any United Methodist ordained elder may be elected a bishop by any jurisdictional conference. Each jurisdiction establishes the percentage of votes needed for election. Voting by ballot continues until someone receives the required number of votes. This year the balloting will be electronic.

The Alabama-West Florida Conference has endorsed Dr. R. Lawson Bryan as out Episcopal Nominee. The announcement of new episcopal leaders will be made at Jurisdictional Conference.

The session will open at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, July 13, and will conclude on Friday, July 15, with the Service of Consecration for newly elected episcopal leaders. 

Click here for more details on the conference

The Alabama-West Florida Delegation Jurisdiction Delegation members are as follows:
Steve Furr, laity
Pat Luna, laity
Beverly Maddox, laity
Clara Ester, laity
Dawn Hare, laity
Frank Moore, laity
Robert Powell, laity
Frank Dunnewind, laity
Tripp Gulledge, laity
Gene Floore, laity
Susan Hunt, laity alternate
Antonius Barnes, laity alternate
Duane Keck, laity alternate
Paulette Thompson, laity alternate
Lawson Bryan, clergy
Larry Bryars, clergy
Jeremy Pridgeon, clergy
Robin Wilson, clergy
John Brooks, clergy
June Jernigan, clergy
Rurel Ausley, clergy
Cory Smith, clergy
Tonya Elmore, clergy
Emily Kincaid, clergy
Dan Morris, clergy alternate
Jackie Slaughter, clergy alternate
Allen Newton, clergy alternate
Rob Couch, clergy alternate